4-year diaversary

I’m redefining the term “diaversary” originally limited to those who have been diagnosed with diabetes and expanding upon it’s definition to include all of those living with a chronic illness.  And as most of you know (because let’s face it, no one else reads my blog), I’ve been living with Crohn’s disease for four years since this past November (I know this post is a little late, sorry).  I was initially diagnosed after a slew of tests, awkward questions, and even more awkward procedures during the fall of my senior year of high school.  Long story short, after I was diagnosed and treated, the medications gave me horrendous side effects and worsened my already disastrous symptoms.  All in all, it sucked.  Cringing pain that felt like shards of glass moving through my system and the subsequent weight loss that followed forced me to leave the crew team after three years.  Finally, I was able to achieve remission, but was again haunted a year later by a year-and-a-half long of remission-relapse cycles.  Fortunately I have been in remission for just over a year now thanks to a little (and crazy-expensive) medication called Remicade.

remicade

The only thing us Crohnies can do is face the reality of the matter head-on.  We aspire to continue doing the things we love regardless if it’s a little hard or takes us a little longer.  While I am constantly aware of the monster lurking inside me, I am more apt to enjoy and cherish the time I have while in remission.  Every diaversary is more of a badge of honor, earned and respected, and fortunately I am able to celebrate my fourth year as a Crohnie (relatively) healthy and in remission.

Suck it, Crohn’s.

One thought on “4-year diaversary

Leave a Reply

